The Waxing Lady

Brazilian wax? Anywhere. Eyebrows? One lady, ever, only.

I used to have this fabulous waxing lady. I call her the waxing lady, but really she does this fabulous 4 step process. First she combs and trims, next she waxes, after that she threads and lastly she plucks you into perfection. I loved this woman. Her name is Tammy.

I lost Tammy when I moved. She used to be a walk away from my old apartment, like 5 minutes. Now, she is an hour long commute away. At first I told myself that it was too far. Which it was. And still is. To travel an hour there and an hour back for a process that takes 15 minutes? Ludicrous right? Wrong.

Since moving, I have entrusted my brows to a few different local ladies. They have threaded me too thin, or rounded out my lovely arch, or given me wax burns. I would show them a photo of my eyebrows the way I liked them done (yes, I keep eyebrow photos in my iPhone for this purpose) and they would always agree to give me my brows just like they were featured in my photo. But never did it happen. Ever. I felt defeated. I moved nearly 3 years ago, and in all this time, I still have not been able to find a waxing lady who could do me like Tammy did.

2 days ago, I was traveling across the city and I figured it was easier to go 30 minutes out of my way to see her. I needed a brow job like nobody’s business. I was looking like a Sasquatch. So I went, and I felt like slapping myself for thinking I could replace her. She is amazing. Tammy with the magic technique. I will never try to replace her again. It feels so good to enjoy my eyebrows this much, again. Like a prodigal child or long lost love returning home… that’s how I felt after seeing Tammy.

Now if only I could get her to relocate that salon of hers…

Leave a Reply

